Distress at the Dentist’s

Today I went to the dentist’s office for a cleaning. This is no ordinary task for someone with HG though. I remember when I went for a cleaning when I was pregnant with Annelise and how I got really nauseous. So I was nervous that the same thing would happen today.

I gave the hygienist a heads-up regarding my nausea. She asked if I had any other medical changes besides the pregnancy since the last visit. I could have answered, “Well, I’ve thrown up too many times to count, I’ve been dehydrated and was on IV treatment for two months…” But I replied, “Nope, just the pregnancy.” Sometimes it’s just easier to save my breath and give the simple answer.

Not even halfway through the cleaning, I found myself feeling very nauseous. I think it was the combination of lying down, having a hard time breathing, the smell of the latex, and the heat emanating from the overhead lamp that made me feel queasy. I was afraid that I would either hurl or pass out if the cleaning continued.

So I stopped the hygienist and sat up. She and the dentist were very accommodating and got me a cup of cold water. Sitting up and drinking the water helped. For the remainder of the cleaning, we decided it would be best for me to sit up rather than recline on the chair. And the hygienist used the lamp on her goggles rather than the larger overhead lamp.

Thankfully, the rest of the cleaning went much more smoothly! Now I’m back home and I’m pretty exhausted from that ordeal. It’s so sad how the littlest things just suck all the energy out of me.

2 thoughts on “Distress at the Dentist’s

  1. HG and the dentist is the worse, I can not tell you how many cavities and root canals I have had due to HG! My dental bills are as high as my medical bills! It is just not fair! I had to have a root canal while I was pregnant with the last baby, it was so BAD! I am glad you made it throw! You are a tough lady! You can do anything!

Leave a Reply

