NY Daily News Article & Inside Edition Segment!

Hyperemesis Gravidarum has become a trendy topic in the media since Duchess Kate’s hospitalization due to the disorder. Some of the news coverage has been good while others have butchered the opportunity to inform the public about HG. The hosts of The View managed to cause uproar in the HG community when they announced Duchess Kate’s pregnancy and hospital admission and flippantly joked about her “morning sickness” and said it “doesn’t sound too bad.” It is appalling and mortifying that an Emmy-winning show like The View did not take the time to research HG before discussing it on national television! Their approach to talking about this disorder was completely insensitive to Duchess Kate as well as the many women who have and are currently suffering from HG. Many of us have written to the show expressing our concerns and deep disappointment. We are hoping that the hosts of The View will issue a public apology and take the time to explain the real dangers and symptoms of HG.

Through a funny string of circumstances, I was contacted by one of the editors of the NY Daily News yesterday. He asked me to write an article offering advice to Duchess Kate about surviving HG. I had to quickly jot down my thoughts as he needed it to be done within a couple hours. I haven’t been able to sleep much this week due to the nausea. I felt so nauseous and exhausted but somehow I got an extra boost of energy to write this article because I was so excited about the potential it has to educate the public about HG.

Early this morning at 6 am, I received an email from a producer at Inside Edition. She had found my blog through the NY Daily News article and said they wanted to interview me for a segment on HG! Needless to say, I was shocked and flustered (not to mention sleep-deprived!) but I agreed to do the interview. I knew I had to push through the exhaustion in order to share about my HG experience on behalf of all of you who are suffering through it now. The segment aired this afternoon in Los Angeles. Here is a clip of it that you can watch online –

http://www.insideedition.com/videos/937-mother-shares-details-of-severe-morning-sickness-symptoms

I am truly thankful for the opportunities this week to share about hyperemesis and hope I’ve helped to get the right information out there. I hope that more and more people will become knowledgeable about HG so that women experiencing HG do not have to suffer in isolation or have their symptoms minimized by even medical professionals. And I hope they know that they are not alone in this battle and that they can endure it (as difficult as it is!) to the end to receive the best gift in the world!

4 thoughts on “NY Daily News Article & Inside Edition Segment!

  1. Wow, congratulations – on both the article and the TV segment! You are doing awesome things for HG awareness! I was impressed with the video segment as well – it’s nice that so many people are taking it seriously, including this doctor. Good work!

    • Hi Diana,
      Thank you so much! It was an honor and a privilege to be able to speak on behalf of you and other HG mamas! Yes, I was very pleased with Dr. Masterson’s description of the severity of HG symptoms. Thanks again for giving my blog a shout-out! Take care!

    • Hi Wury,
      Thank you! My symptoms were so much worse my first and second trimester…there is no way I could have done these things the first half of my pregnancy. I’m thankful that I had enough energy this week to write the article and do the interview!

Leave a Reply

